Ballykealey – Baile Uí Chaollaí – O’ Kealy’s town

By admin • April 29th, 2010

13. Quaker graveyard and Lecky family graveyard – The charming village of Ballon is rich in archaeological heritage. Located on the outskirts of the village is the Quaker graveyard also strongly associated with the Lecky family for whom nearby Ballykealey House was built in 1830. Twenty six members of the family are known to be buried in this Quaker plot.

Quaker graveyard in Ballykealey

Quaker graveyard in Ballykealey

Lecky family gravestone, Ballykealey

Lecky family gravestone, Ballykealey

By the late nineteenth century most of the family had become members of the Church of Ireland and a new family graveyard was consecrated in 1880. The graveyard remained in use until 1950. It includes a memorial to Captain John Lecky, killed in Mesopotamia in 1915 and the grave of Molly Grace (nee Lecky) a section officer in the WAAF who was killed in 1942 while flying her plane during the Second World War.

Open: Daily, daylight hours

Admission: Free

Parking: Limited

Quakers: Popular name for a group of Christians who use no scripture and believe in a simple, pacifist lifestyle. They call themselves The Society of Friends.

Comments are closed.


« | Home | »