St. Patrick’s Church

By admin • April 29th, 2010

St. Patrick’s Church

St. Patrick’s Church is an early nineteenth-century church built in theGothic-revival style. It has been described as a reduced version of Cobden’s CarlowCathedral and is regarded as one of the finest Gothic barn-type churches inIreland.The granite-built church dates from c. 1830 and has a T plan. The attractive,three–bay exterior has a large central window flanked by quatre-foil windows overdoorcases. In the centre of the façade is a mosaic of the Blessed Virgin, dated 1954,celebrating the Marian year. Above this is a bellcote which in turn is surmounted bya cross. The bell dates from 1900 and was cast by a Dublin foundry.The interior has retained its three galleries and simple Gothic reredos . Thedecorative plasterwork on the ceiling is particularly eye-catching and is believed tobe the work of Italian refugee artisans who were working locally in Fenagh House atthe time the church was being built. The decoration features the motif of the grapeand the grain.The stained glass windows are by Joshua Clarke who was the father of Ireland’smost famous stained glass artist, Harry Clarke. His vibrant piece depicting St.Patrick, the church’s patron, is of significant artistic merit.22 23Did You Know…In the graveyard behind the church can be seen two granite slabs with circular apertures.These are believed to have come from a watch-house located in the cemetery to detercorpse stealing for medical research or financial gain.

Open: Daily | Admission: Free | Parking: Yes
9 Directions to the next site: From church continue straight on passing the school on the left hand side. After
2km turn right for Fenagh. On the outskirts of Fenagh village turn left at the roundabout and take the road for Myshall.
Distance 8.6km.

Comments are closed.


« | Home | »